v
Research Coordinator
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Patricia Flynn, Ph.D.,  M.P.H., pflynn@llu.edu,  CV
Cornell University, B.S. in Educational Psychology, 1998
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology, 2004
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Experimental/Health Psychology, 2005
Loma Linda University, M.P.H. in Health Promotion and Education, 2008
Andres Mendez, B.A., agmendez@llu.edu
Princeton University, B.A. in Psychology, 2007
Research Interests: Culture, Mental Health, Substance Abuse
Ify Onyemenem, B.A., ionyemenem@llu.edu
California State University, Fresno, B.A. Psychology & Speech Communication
Brenda Navarrete, Ph.D. bnavarrete@llu.edu
Wesmont College, B.A. in Psychology and Religious Studies
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology, 2007
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Clinical Psychology, 2008
Research Interests: Culture in Academic Achievement
Current Employment: San Bernardino Department of Behavioral Health
Nikkie Espinoza, B.A., nespinoza@llu.edu
University of California, Irvine, B.A. in Social Ecology, 2004
Loma Linda University, Psy.D. in Clinical Psychology, 2011
Research Interests: Culture, Breast Cancer Survivorship and Screening
Jennifer Tucker, Ph.D.  jtucker04g@llu.edu
Boston University, B.A. in Psychology, 2000
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology, 2007
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Experimental Psychology, 2008
Research Interests: Cognition-Emotion, Health Care Mistreatment, Culture, Physiology, Neuroscience
Current Employment: Research Coordinator in Education
Dr. Flynn was awarded a research fellowship through the American Cancer Society to investigate
cultural beliefs and expectations about health care professionals and the delivery of
cancer-related health care services.  She has also received recognition from the  National Institute
of Health through the Health Disparities Loan Repayment Program. Dr. Flynn teaches
Cross-Cultural Psychology and an Advanced Seminar in Health Disparities and Inequalities at
Loma Linda University.
Graduate Students
Culture and Behavior Laboratory
Former Graduate Students
Gangaw Zaw, Ph.D.
California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, 1998
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology, 2004
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology, 2006
Research Interests: Culture, Conflict, Attribution Processes
Clinical Interests: Forensics
Internship: Southern Arizona Veteran Administration Health Care System
Current Employment: Coalinga State Hospital in Coalinga, California
Sarah Ormseth, B.A., sormseth@llu.edu
University of California at Riverside, B.A. in School Psychology, 2005
Research Interests: Social Networking, Culture, Cancer-Related Distress
Cynthia Batista, Ph.D.
Columbia University, B.A. in Psychology, 1986
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental  Psychology, 2003
Loma Linda University, Ph.D., in Clinical Psychology, 2005
Research Interests: Inter & Intra-Group Conflict, Stereotypes &
Discrimination, Trauma, Anxiety Disorders, Culturally-Sensitive Treatments
Clinical Interests: Trauma, Culture, Group Therapy
Current Employment: Clinical Fellow, Martha Eliots Health Center of Children's Hospital Boston &
Harvard Medical School
Grant Seo, B.A., cseo@llu.edu
University of California, Los Angeles, B.S. in Psychobiology, 2003
Loma Linda University, PsyD in Clinical Psychology, 2011
Research Interests: Cognition- Emotion, Attribution Theory
Monica Hodges, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology, 2003
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology, 2006
Research Interests: Conflict & Violence, Attribution Theory, Meta-Attributions
Current Employment: California State University Long Beach; Private Practice
Suzanne Hawley, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology
Loma Linda University, M.P.H.
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology
Research Interests: Mental Health, Leadership, and Diverse Populations
Current Employment: Assistant Professor and Director of the KU-MPH Program at the University of
Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita Campus, Department of Preventive Medicine and Public
Health; Program Director for the Kansas Public Health Leadership Institute
Sandra Brooks, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University, M.A. in Experimental Psychology
Loma Linda University, Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology
Research Interests: Academic Achievement and Racial Identity among African Americans
Clinical Interests: Community Psychology, Program Development; Reconciliation and
Forgiveness, Health Promotion
Pre-Doctoral Fellowship: United Negro College Fund’s Frederick D. Patterson Research Institute
Internship: Lawndale Christian Health Center
Jael Amador, B.S., B.A., jamador@llu.edu
Andrews University, B.S. in Psychology, B.A. in Spanish Studies, 2005
Research Interests: Culture, Empathy, Health Disparities
Nikita Mistry, B.A., nmistry@llu.edu
University of California, Riverside, B.A. in Biology, minor in Psychology, 2008
Research Interests: Culture and health psychology
Susan Lee, M.A., suslee@llu.edu
University of California, Berkeley, M.A. in Education, 1996
University of California, Riverside, B.A. in Psychology, 1991
Research Interests: Culture and Behavior; Multicultural Education
Greg Regts, B.A., gregts@llu.edu
Calvin College, B.A. in Psychology & Philosophy, 2007
Research Interests: Health Disparities, Health Behavior Change, Chronic Illness Self-Management
Daniel Northington, B.A., dnorthington@llu.edu
Azusa Pacific University, B.A. in Youth Ministry, 2007
Pepperdine University, M.A. in Psychology, 2010
Research Interests: Attribution Theory, Military Psychology, and Suicide Prevention
Kayla Kinworthy, B.S., B.A., kkinworthy@llu.edu
Marymount University, B.A. in Psychology, minor Criminal Justice, 2010
Research Interests: Cultural differences, Health Disparities, Forensic Psychology